The last days before the four month adventure - Reisverslag uit Roelofarendsveen, Nederland van Karin Meer - WaarBenJij.nu The last days before the four month adventure - Reisverslag uit Roelofarendsveen, Nederland van Karin Meer - WaarBenJij.nu

The last days before the four month adventure

Door: Karin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Karin

25 December 2012 | Nederland, Roelofarendsveen

Only a few days are left for me in the Netherlands before my plane flies to Hong Kong on thursdayevening. Many sweet people are asking how things are getting along and I'd love to keep everyone updated personally, but that's just not very doable while wanting to explore a new country and doing research. Therefor, I'm starting this blog to keep everyone posted and tell some stories every now and then. If you want off or on the mailing list, just let me know.

So, after some weeks of preparing and saying goodbye to friends, I left Groningen today. Time has been going really fast, but I think the most important preparations are made. I have a plane ticket, a place to work, a place to make my home and motivation to start this adventure. Besides going abroad for some very interesting research (to me it is!), it will be only the second time I'll be going outside of Europe and the first time was boardering Spain. Asia will be very different, but it's hard to get a grip on how different exactly. Some people say that where I'll go, people will want to take pictures of me just for being tall and blonde, they'll want to touch my skin because it looks strange, that there are no meat leftovers and that the people on the streets might not be able to understand English. Whatever it is that I will find, curious me is looking forward to it!

But first I'm going to celebrate Christmas with my family...

Karin

  • 28 December 2012 - 13:29

    Kelly:

    Heeeel veel plezier in China! Ik ben benieuwd naar al je verhalen :)

  • 28 December 2012 - 15:21

    Anneke:

    Hallo Karin.

    Ik hoor van Hans, dat je in Hong Kong bent aangekomen.

    De grote ontdekkingstocht kan beginnen.
    Geniet er van.

  • 28 December 2012 - 23:21

    Mart Van Der Meer:

    Veel plezier in het über verre oosten!

  • 30 December 2012 - 17:46

    Deborah:

    Hee laiverd, goed te horen dat je veilig aangekomen bent. Bedankt nog voor je lieve kerstkaart (kreeg ik vandaag). Ben benieuwd naar je volgende verhaal!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Roelofarendsveen

Karin

For my travels I'll try to type a story every few weeks for whoever is interested.

Actief sinds 24 Dec. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 327
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19627

Voorgaande reizen:

15 Juni 2014 - 13 September 2014

Backpacking Chile and Peru

27 December 2012 - 23 Maart 2012

Hong Kong

Landen bezocht: